Online Graduate Certificate in Weather and Climate Risk and Data Analytics

Program Overview 

The Department of Atmospheric Sciences (ATMS) now offers a Graduate Certificate in Weather and Climate Risk and Data Analytics, designed to meet the demand for atmospheric scientists with post-graduate education in the:

  • computational analysis/analytics of weather and climate data
  • implementation and use of predictive models for the weather-climate interface
  • assessment of weather- and climate-related risk

This particular skill set is different than, but complementary to that of traditional weather forecasting, and is particularly desirable in the private sector, which is the fastest-growing employment sector in the atmospheric sciences. This non-transcriptable certificate program is fully online, which precludes the need for an extended absence from a current position and/or familial responsibilities, and otherwise maximizes learning flexibility. 

Request more information

 

 

 

Coursework

Students completing the online Graduate Certificate in Weather and Climate Risk and Data Analytics must complete three courses, totaling 12 credit hours, from the following list:

ATMS 517: Data Science for the Geosciences (4 cr)

ATMS 521: Climate Analysis, Variability, and Prediction (4 cr)

ATMS 523: Weather and Climate Data Analytics (4 cr)

ATMS 526: Risk Analysis in the Geosciences (4 cr)

GEOG 407: Foundations of CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science (4 cr)

Prior to enrolling in the courses, the student must develop a plan of study in consultation with the program’s academic advisor Prof. Alicia Klees.

Prerequisites

Students who wish to apply must meet the following requirements:

  • Bachelor's degree, ideally in atmospheric sciences, meteorology, oceanography, or in a related field such as physics, mathematics, computer science, engineering. The degree must be from an accredited college in the United States or an approved institution of higher learning abroad
  • GPA of 3.0 (out of 4.0) or higher for the last 60 semester hours in a Bachelor's program. Students who do not meet the degree criterion and/or GPA criterion may still be eligible for consideration. Such students are encouraged to contact Dr. Alicia Klees, Teaching Assistant Professor and program advisor, aklees@illinois.edu, to determine their possible eligibility.

Tuition and Fees

2021-22 Tuition and Fee rates via Illinois Online.

 

Application Deadlines:

Fall 2021: Monday, August 16th
Apply now!

 

 

Course and Faculty Highlights:

ATMS 517: Data Science for the Geosciences

Prof. Alicia Klees, Graduate Certificate Advisor 

 

Affiliated Faculty

Alicia Klees, Teaching Assistant Professor & Graduate Certificate Advisor, aklees@illinois.edu

Brian Jewett, Research Scientist, bjewett@illinois.edu

Steve Nesbitt, Professor, snesbitt@illinois.edu

Bob Rauber, Professor, r-rauber@illinois.edu

Ryan Sriver, Professor, rsriver@illinois.edu

Jeff Trapp, Professor and Department Head, jtrapp@illinois.edu

Zhuo Wang, Professor, zhuowang@illinois.edu